Tehran University of Medical Sciences
Code : 17477      Publish Date : Friday, November 28, 2014 Visit : 5099

Schools | School of Medicine

School of Medicine



In 1849, the first modern class of Medicine at Dar-ol-Fonoon School was founded, and the pioneering graduates started the practice of modern medicine in 1856. In 1918, Dar-ol-Fonoon was renamed to College of Medicine, and in 1934 it turned into the School of Medicine of the University of Tehran.
Now, it has 38 departments (covering basic and clinical sciences). It has an unrivaled number of 983 faculty members, and 17 hospitals are affiliated to the School. The School trains around 8,000 students in over 100 postgraduate and medical programs. Currently, the school has more than 100 international students.
The School has comprehensive programs on clinical sciences covering M.D., Residency (Specialty & Sub-specialty), and fellowship programs. It offers versatile graduate degrees (M.Sc., MPH & Ph.D.) in basic sciences as well. Faculty members are recognized as the leading clinicians and scientists of the country, not only in terms of didactic training but also in clinical skills transfer, role-modeling, and research mentoring.  
The School is committed to innovation in education, research excellence, ethics and integrity, and comprehensive clinical services, specifically the most challenging clinical scenarios.
You can find more information regarding the school's departments and offered programs on its official webpage.